13 RW – if you get it you should read this

Finally watched 13 reasons why. Phenomenal acting. Brilliant entertainment. I mean I watched 13 episodes in just under a day. The day before my exam. So obviously the producers knew what they were doing. It resonated with me too. Having just recently graduated from being a teenaged girl myself, in Hannah, I saw reflections of the girls I had grown up with.

In previous posts I’ve discussed a lot on depression, suicide and even about a school acquaintance who took her own life. And I’m so glad that there is a mainstream TV show out there which brings people from all backgrounds to the topic at hand: mental illness.

I have certain grievances with the show. The biggest being the game like attitude Hannah Baker has towards suicide. She creates tapes. 13 to be exact. About the reasons why she ended her life. In doing so she creates an immortal remembrance of herself. I fear that many young and impressionable people may see this and get romanticised about the idea of suicide. When the reality for the majority is far from this. My other grievance is of course the content itself. It is rated 18. And certain episodes have warnings. However its the age of the internet. Anyone can get their hands on this show and watch it. I’m not at all triggered by the show. Fortunately I am not depressed nor have any suicidal ideations. But many people watching it will. And they will be triggered. And that is dangerous.

However the show in all its graphic glory continually highlighted one point. There is always another choice. Suicide doesn’t have to be it. There is life beyond what you’re feeling today and there is support out there. Reach out – someone will take your hand.

THE SAMARITANS: 116 123 (UK only)

Peace

-Vitzy-

2 thoughts on “13 RW – if you get it you should read this

  1. thecitygirlvibe says:

    I just recently finished watching the show and I know I’m like really late lol. I agree about the triggering aspect of the show for those who are not mentally stable. I actually wrote a post last week on whether the show glamorizes suicide. TBH, I personally think that these types of shows should be watched by parents and teens together because it will open up a lot of conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

